Christine Thatcher elected DDSB Board Chair for 2023-24

Posted On Tuesday November 21, 2023

Following its annual Organizational Board Meeting, the Durham District School Board has announced that Whitby Trustee Christine Thatcher has been elected Chair of the Board for 2023-24.

Dedicated to student success and well-being, Thatcher was first elected in 2018 and is committed to public education. Thatcher was re-elected to a new four-year term in 2022.

“I am honoured to take on the role of Chair and build upon the successes of the Board,” Thatcher said in a statement. “My goal is to continue the outstanding work of the Board and the past Chair, focusing on student learning, equity, human rights, and well-being, while ensuring accountability, strong leadership, and responsiveness to the needs of our community. We are committed to delivering results that make a positive impact on the lives of our students and their families.”

Trustees were also selected to serve on various committees, including:

  • Deb Oldfield, elected from Oshawa as Vice Chair of the Board and Chair of the Standing Committee
  • Tracy Brown, elected from Whitby as Vice Chair of the Committee of the Whole-Standing Committee
  • Carolyn Morton, elected from Brock/Scugog/Uxbridge as Chair of the Education Finance Committee
  • Emma Cunningham, elected from Pickering as Chair of the Governance and Policy Committee

 A complete list of Board Committees and Trustee Liaisons can be found on the DDSB’s website.